“But to him who does not work but believes on Him who justifies the ungodly, his faith is accounted for righteousness,”
‭‭Romans‬ ‭4:5‬ ‭NKJV‬‬

We often talk about faith like it’s a state of mind we can work ourselves into, but I think it’s actually a lot simpler than that.

One use of the word is to believe something is true. We examine the evidence and decide whether we actually believe there’s a God or not, or whether Jesus really existed and rose again. And while that’s very important, it’s not the whole story; nor do I think that’s what defines a Christian. It’s when we are willing to bet our lives and future on the reality of what He has done for us that we are saved. It’s “believe” in the sense of trusting the character and ability of someone who has made you a promise.

God has promised us eternal life and bodily resurrection. This seems sort of abstract and in the future, so it’s not that hard to convince ourselves we can trust Him with that. But He has also promised that He will use all things for our good, that He is in control and that He will provide what we need. When I lose my job, or am sick or bereaved, will I continue to trust? If I do, I really can rejoice, even when the chips are down.

Trust in this sense is almost a statement of allegiance. Do I trust Him, or my own efforts? Do I trust Him enough to lay down my arms and trust that He really is love?

Happy Easter! He is risen!

