All we really want is in Christ: grace, love, acceptance, significance, safety, security, fulfillment, purpose, my eyes finally off myself and on to Him. Melt my heart with a clear Vision of Him, and everything else will take care of itself.

I don’t always hear his voice, but when I do I recognize it immediately. It pushes me past the edges of my precious detached objectivity: in with both feet, completely partisan, giving up my sense of control. It’s scary and exciting at the same time.

We need to give ourselves completely to God, simply trusting He’s there for us. The quality of our relationship to God is proportional to the degree of abandon.

Sometimes this abandon shows itself in just the determination to praise and trust when it feels like He’s not there. It’s demonstrated in our ordering our lives around Him as the supreme good, the non-negotiable.

